Shadwell Parish Councillors

The current Parish Council is made up of 8 members shown below:

Debbie Potter (Chairman)

Debbie has been with the Parish Council from its inception in 2002. As well as being Chairman, Debbie serves on the Finance Committee as Vice Chairman. She is also on the committee of Shadwell in Bloom, being a founder member of Shadwell in Bloom, and acts as secretary/treasurer to that organisation. She is on the committees of both  the Shadwell Library,  Arts Centre and Café, and the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group. She represents Shadwell at a numerous Forums run by the City Council.

In her spare time she enjoys walking, cycling, badminton, gardening, eating and drinking and going on holiday.

Contact Debbie at or on 0113 2657575

Norman Taylor

Norman has been a member of the council since its inception in 2002. He is also Chairman of Shadwell in Bloom and a trustee of the Recreational Centre.

Contact Norman at or on  0113 2737393

Geoffrey Wilson

Geoffrey has been with the parish council since its inception in 2002 and was the first Chairman. He is on the Finance Committee and is trustee of the Recreational Centre.

Contact Geoffrey at or on 0113 2737164

David Ford

David is our newest councillor having joined the Parish Council in May 2018.  David was born and brought up on a farm on the outskirts of the village and has been involved in village life ever since. He has a degree in hospitality management and has worked in the catering industry for over thirty years. He currently manages a catering contract in the city centre. David currently serves on the Planning and Village Maintenance committees.

Contact David at or on 07760 508890

Denise Trickett

She is vice-chair of the Parish Council and serves on the Finance Committee and the Neighbourhood Planning Steering Group. Denise is also a leading light in the Shadwell History Society and Shadwell Library,  Arts Centre and Café. Denise is now retired after an extensive career in education in Leeds.

Contact Denise at or on 0113 2737250

Vidya Venkatesh

Vidya serves on the Finance Committee and neighbourhood planning committee. Vidya is also the older people’s champion and is working with other members of the community in developing Shadwell into a ‘Dementia Friendly Village’. Vidya is a dentist by profession.

Contact Vidya at

Emma Stapleton

Emma serves on the Planning Committee. Emma is a director at a global business based in Leeds, and has a Masters at Bradford University’s School of Management.

Contact Emma at

Nirmal Tulwa

Nirmal serves on Planning and Finance Committees. Nirmal works as a consultant in trauma and orthopaedics in the NHS. He has been involved for several years in Shadwell Junior football club and is keen to support the younger age group.

Contact Nirmal at or by phone on 07894 908012

Note also the following.

Mike Woods (Clerk)

Mike took over as Clerk to the Parish Council in March 2017 and works 10 hour a week. Mike previously worked for Leeds City Council and has many years’ experience in local government. He is a qualified accountant.

Contact Mike at

Matthew Robinson (Harewood Ward Member)

Matthew was elected to represent the Harewood ward in May 2012. He sits of the Outer North East Area Committee, the Leeds Schools Sports Association, Aberford Almshouse Trust and Leeds Sports Federation. In addition Matthew is also a Governor on the Shadwell and Bramham Federation of Primary Schools. In addition to his work as a Councillor, Matthew also works for an education charity which seeks to address educational inequality by developing the next generation of leaders in challenging schools in the most disadvantaged areas of the country. Matthew has an MA from Leeds University and BA for the University of York and enjoys football, golf, reading and walking his dog Max.

Contact Matthew at

Alec Shelbrooke (MP)

Elected Conservative Member of Parliament for the Elmet & Rothwell constituency in May 2010. The constituency comprises a number of villages including Shadwell. Prior to his election to Parliament, Alec represented Shadwell as a Leeds City Councillor in the Harewood ward. In Government, Alec serves as the Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Transport Minister. Alec holds regular surgeries by appointment at various locations around the constituency. Appointments can be made by contacting his office on the details below.

Phone: 01937 838 081
Address: Alec Shelbrooke MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA